The summer school goes online!

Soft Tissue Robotics Summer School 2020

Due to the current worldwide COVID-19 restrictions, this years IRTG 'Soft Tissue Robotics' summer school will take place completely online. This page includes all the relevant information to connect with the summer school and keep up to date with the latest developments.

General Information

When?

DatesJuly 6 - July 10 2020 
Time: 8- 10am CEST / 6-8pm NZST

Where?

Zoom (download link): for meeting details contact the summer school coordinators (see bottom of page)

Agenda

8-12am CEST / 6-10pm NZST
Alex Schiller - Effective presentations & teams and leadership

8-8.15am CEST / 6-6.15pm NZST
Oliver Röhrle / Leo Cheng - Greetings/kick-off

8.15-9am CEST / 6.15-7pm NZST
Suranga Nanayakkara - “Touch me Gently: Recreating the Perception of Touch using a Shape-Memory Alloy Matrix
This talk with focus on one of the projects at Augmented Human Lab (www.ahlab.org/projects) where we focus on recreating the perception of touch using a shape-memory alloy matrix.  In contrast to previous approaches, we arrange light-weight and stretchable 3×3cm plasters in a matrix onto the skin. Individual plasters were embedded with lines of shape-memory alloy (SMA) wires to generate shear-forces. Our design is informed by a series of studies investigating the perceptibility of different sizes, spacings, and attachments of plasters on the forearm. Our matrix arrangement enables the illusion of touches, for instance, feeling ones wrist being grabbed or the arm being stroked. Users rated the illusive touch sensations as being fairly similar to a real touch. Even without a visual representation, users were able to correctly distinguish them with an overall accuracy of 94%. We will show show some cases showing how AR and VR could be empowered with experiencing touch illusions.

9-9.45am CEST / 7-7.45pm NZST
Maria Wirzberger -  "Why learning is (sometimes more or less) demanding and how we can handle it"
Learning is hard work. It involves building coherent and stable knowledge structures – a process that highly demands our available cognitive resources. But what aspects in learning situations are particularly resource-demanding and how do they affect learning performance? I will introduce selected examples of my existing research that shed light on cognitive resource demands in different learning tasks by inspecting performance indicators, paralinguistic speech characteristics, physiological markers and simulated neural response patterns. Future research within my newly established Department of Teaching and learning with intelligent systems (https://www.ife.uni-stuttgart.de/en/llis/) will build on these findings to develop approaches for reliable user-state adaptation in human-machine interaction and enhance learning algorithms in physical and virtual agents.

9.45am CEST / 7.45pm NZST onwards
Discussion demonstrator

8-8.20am CEST / 6-6.20pm NZST
Homayoon - “Predict human motion intention based on EMG and kinematics“

8.20-8.40am CEST/ 6.20-6.40pm NZST
Harnoor - “Modelling motor-units in 3D macroscopic muscle models to decode motor output“

8.40-9.00am CEST / 6.40-7pm NZST
Annika - "Using Ultrasound Methods to obtain 3D Skeletal Muscle Geometries"

9.00-9.20am CEST / 7-7.20pm NZST
Benjamin - “Simulation of muscle contraction and EMG“

9.20-9.40am CEST / 7.20-7.40pm NZST
Mylena - “Towards a fast and stable dynamic skeletal muscle model“

9.40-10.00am CEST / 7.40-8pm NZST
Ben - “Unconventional uses of structural compliance in adaptive hands“

10-11am CEST / 8-9pm NSZT
Social event

8-8.20am CEST / 6-6.20pm NZST
Manuel - “Motion Planning for Deformable Linear Objects“

8.20-8.40am CEST/ 6.20-6.40pm NZST
Florian - “Cable handling task as Reinforcement Learning problem in Virtual Commissioning simulations“

8.40-9.00am CEST / 6.40-7pm NZST
Henning - “Tackling model uncertainty during regulation of constrained systems using stochastic model predictive control”

9.00-9.20am CEST / 7-7.20pm NZST
Johannes K - “Tracking and output regulation for nonlinear constrained systems using model predictive control“

9.20-9.40am CEST / 7.20-7.40pm NZST
David - “Cloud-based control distributed at field level for systems interacting with soft bodies“

9.40-10.00am CEST / 7.40-8pm NZST
Jonathan - “Integrated Active Actuators for Medical and Industrial Robotics“

10-10.10am CEST / 8-8.10pm NZST
Benedikt - “Characteristics of transverse flux machines and approaches for reduced torque ripples“

10.20-11am CEST / 8.20-9pm NSZT
Social event

8-8.20am CEST / 6-6.20pm NZST
Johannes - “A Geometry-Based Control Architecture for Synthesizing Biological Movement“

8.20-8.40am CEST/ 6.20-6.40pm NZST
Masoumeh - “Let’s trust hard robots“

8.40-9.00am CEST / 6.40-7pm NZST
Amy - “It’s getting hot in here - Compensating for changes in cardiac basal heat“

9.00-9.20am CEST / 7-7.20pm NZST
Jamie- “High-Density Electromyography (HD-EMG): Methods and Applications for Myoelectric Control“

9.20-9.40am CEST / 7.20-7.40pm NZST
Jalil - "Extracting Key features to automating decision making for orchard manual task"

9.40-10am CEST / 7.40-8pm NZST
Jona
s  - "Signals from Magnetic Field Sensors Based on NV-Center in Diamond"

10-10.20am CEST / 8-8.20pm NZST
Closing discussions 

Contact

This picture showsJoanna Grabowski
 

Joanna Grabowski

Coordinator GRK 2198

This picture showsOliver Röhrle
Univ.-Prof.

Oliver Röhrle

PI and Spokesperson GRK 2198

[Photo: Universität Stuttgart]

To the top of the page